Cady Hammer, debuting author of Chasing Fae

Whether you are traditionally or self-publishing. Debuting is an unforgettable foot print authors will remember for the rest of their writing career.

Rising YA Fantasy author Cady Hammer is debuting her book Chasing Fae with a tempting tier set pre-order on Indiegogo

The Mortal

The Middle Realm

The Demon Realm

The Lower Realm

Each package includes a signed copy and other perks!

So what is Chasing Fae about?

Grace is a young girl who discovers her brother Leo has passed away after going into service at Fae’s World. With no ceremonial honor of Leo’s death. Grace suspects foul play was involved. She disguises herself as a Fae and sneaks up to the Upper Realm in search of answers.

For in-depth description check out Chasing Fae at Indiegogo

As writers and readers, every writing journey has a story to tell. So I asked Hammer a  few questions about her debuting book   

Congratulations on your debuting book, what are some hurdles or achievements you learned as a fantasy writer?

Cady Hammer:  One of the biggest hurdles was getting the world fleshed out. As a fantasy author, you want to make sure that your reader becomes invested in your world. They need to want to be a part of it. I spent eight months before I started my first draft working on the Three Realms and making it beautiful. I spent weeks perfecting the magic system and building unique cultures for each of the twelve Noble Houses. But it’s one of my favorite parts of the writing process, and I wouldn’t trade it. Biggest achievements include finishing that first draft, getting your first feedback from a beta reader (positive and constructive!), and finally getting that publishing deal!

The first thing that piqued my interest is Fae’s World. What can you tell us about it?

Cady Hammer: The Fae’s World is called the Upper Realm, and it is my favorite part of my universe. The Upper Realm is divided into twelve Noble Houses, each with their own distinct culture. There are as follows: House of the Sun, House of the Moon, House of the Day, House of the Evening, House of Light, House of Darkness, House of Earth, House of Wind, House of Fire, House of Water, House of Peace, and House of Darkness. Each lorddom (think kingdom, but with a High Lord instead of a king) is built around a singular central element that is then elaborated and built off of to create a unique society. For example, the House of the Evening centers around the nightlife. The people love to get together at night to celebrate life. There is music pouring out of every tavern and hall in the land. String lights hang above the town. The House is best known for its selection of fine wine, its craftsman instruments, and the best festivals in the Twelve Houses.

What is one thing you want YA Fantasy readers to know about Grace?

Cady Hammer: My main character, Grace, is an introverted young woman who recharges on her own and tends to keep to herself. But she’s a leader in her own right; when faced with a challenge, she attacks it head-on with a stubborn fierceness that will inspire. Over the course of the book, readers will see her open up more. As she undertakes this intense journey, you will see her emotions start to devolve. She’s talking to herself more; she’s second guessing herself a bit more, and her strong exterior is beginning to crack. I hope readers love her as much as I do.

You can find out more about Chasing Fae and Cady Hammer at her website

You can also find her at